Hong Kong
Rugby Union

Rugby has been played in Hong Kong as long as horses have been racing in Happy Valley. Early newspapers at the Hong Kong Central Public Records Office have accounts of rugby games played during the late 1870's and 80's. Before World War I, Jock McGregor was secretary of the Hong Kong Rugby Club and the game was played mainly by army and navy men, together with the police and merchant cadets from large trading houses.

The Hong Kong Rugby Union was founded in 1952 and is the governing body for rugby union in Hong Kong. It became affiliated to the then International Rugby Board, now World Rugby, in 1988.

The HKRU logo is a Sleeping Dragon of Formosan design that was formally adopted in 1957.

In 1968, the HKRU became a founding member of the Asian Rugby Football Union and remains committed to developing rugby in Hong Kong and across the region.

The HKRU is the organiser of the Cathay Pacific / HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, which marks 40 years of Sevens in Hong Kong in 2015, and is the only Rugby Union to have hosted two Rugby World Cup Sevens tournaments, both won by Fiji, in 1997 and 2005.

Apart from organising two Bledisloe Cup matches in 2008 and 2010, the HKRU hosted the first ever British & Irish Lions match played in Asia in 2013.

In the same year, Rugby Sevens was granted elite sport status at the Hong Kong Sports Institute and today over 40 athletes (senior and junior) train at the HKSI as Hong Kong prepares for the debut of Sevens at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics in 2016. The HKRU is also a member of the Sports Federation & Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China.

Today the HKRU provides competitive and social rugby opportunities for men and women at every age and skill level in Hong Kong, with a thriving community of over 10,000 players.

Follow the HKRU on and


Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates around the Hong Kong Sevens!