The Road To Rio

28 August, 2015

How teams qualify for Rio Olympics 2016:

A total of 24 teams, (12 men and 12 women), will qualify for the Olympics through a variety of competitions.

The top four-ranked teams from the (men's) HSBC Sevens World Series and (women's) World Rugby Women's Sevens Series have already booked their places in Rio next year.

Those teams are Fiji, South Africa, New Zealand and Team Great Britain in the men's competition and New Zealand, Canada, Australia and Great Britain in the women's competition. Brazil men's and women's sevens teams have automatically qualified as hosts.

Regional qualifiers like the ASRQ are being held worldwide through November when Asia and Africa's tournaments take place. Each of these Regional Qualifiers will send one men's and one women's team through to Brazil.

France, USA and Argentina have qualified from their regional competitions while France, USA and Colombia have qualified from the women's regional competitions bringing the total number of qualified teams in their respective tournaments to eight of 12.

With regional competition still to come in Oceania, Africa and Asia, by end November 11 teams will have qualified across both the men's and women's tournaments.

The last spot available for men and women will be decided by a 16-team cross-continental 'repechage' tournament where the best nations still not qualified will play off with the men's and women's champions securing their ticket to Rio. This tournament will be played by the end of June 2016. Asia will have three places in this competition.


Subscribe to our Newsletter for news and updates around the Hong Kong Sevens!